

## ASSOCIATED STUDENTS INCORPORATED OF CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, STANISLAUS

## Resolution Recommending the Establishment of a University Hour (U-Hour) at California State University, Stanislaus

- **1. WHEREAS:** The Associated Students, Inc., (ASI) is the representative body and the official voice of the students at California State University, Stanislaus; and
- 2. WHEREAS: We believe the most statisfying and extraordinary college experiences are only realized when students are encouraged and able to become involved in a variety of opportunities the campus has to offer, including events and celebrations, student life activities and community networking and department gatherings; and
- **3.** WHEREAS: A *U-Hour* encourages this type of student, faculty and staff engagement by setting aside time periods when no lecture classes are scheduled, thereby allowing the campus community to partake in various campus activities: and
- **4. WHEREAS**: A sigificant benefit of a *U-Hour* would be the sense of campus community and a sense of belonging, particularly for those students who may otherwise feel 'disconnected' from their peers; and
- 5. WHEREAS: Additional benefits of a U-Hour would be:
  - A greater focus on campus pride,
  - Opportunities for campus wide celebrations and events allowing all campus members to attend,
  - Fostering a deeper connection for students and faculty to engage with campus, in other than the classroom setting, and
  - Enhancing a vibrant learning environment by encouraging participation in out-of-classroom activities and experiences.

## 6. WE THEREFORE RECOMMEND:

Establishing a U-Hour on our campus, to be held one day a week, during normal school calendar weeks, taking place each Wednesday from 12:00pm to 1:00pm.

- **7. RESOLVED**: The ASI Board of Directors enthusiastically supports and endorses the establishment of a U-Hour as outlined above.
- 8. FURTHER RESOLVED: That copies of this Resolution be sent to Ellen Junn, University President; Susan Borrego, Interim University President; Richard Ogle, Provost; Koni Stone, Academic Senate Speaker; Marcy Chvasta, UEPC Chair; Christine Erickson, Vice President of Student Affairs; Terence Pitri, Dean College of Business; James Tuedio, Dean College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences; Brad Porfilio, Dean College of Education, Kinesiology & Social Work; and Bill Potter, Interim Dean College of Science.

Passed and Adopted by the Board of Directors of the Associated Students, Inc., at a regularly held meeting on May 2, 2023.

JC Navarro, Vice President

Destiny Suarez, President